Category: soul

  • Olympic Edition Part 1 – Nitin Sawhney “Days of Fire”

    If you’re one of those people that would prefer to avoid the Olympics, I’m afraid you best click away from this post. Bit unusual perhaps to find mention of the Olympics here, but so far I’ve got at least two good reasons to bring ’em up. And this is the first. Here in the US, […]

  • Yuna – Thinkin Bout You (Frank Ocean Cover)

    Yuna - Cover of Frank Ocean's Thinkin Bout You

    Yuna is a wonderful new singer that I discovered, I think with the help of KCRW. She’s Malaysian-born but now based in Los Angeles and signed to the FADER label. This acoustic cover of Frank Ocean’s “Thinkin Bout You” perfectly demonstrates her vocal skills. The more I listen to it, the more I kinda like […]

  • New Music From Dwele – “What Profit”

    Dwele What Profit

    Yay! Dwele’s back with a smooth n’ catchy new single “What Profit”, which precedes a brand new album, his fifth no less which will be released in late summer. Dwele’s last album, “W.ants. W.orld. W.omen. (W.W.W.)” was released in 2010 so it’s been a while since we’ve heard anything from the man. The track is […]

  • Zo! – Just Visiting Three – Free Download

    Zo! Just Visiting Three - Free Download

    Zo! is a multi-instrumentalist / producer from Detroit who is on The Foreign Exchange Music label. His soulful hip-hop sound is a perfect match for that label, born out of the success of Phonte and Nicolay’s original Foreign Exchange collaboration. Just Visiting Three is the latest installment in Zo!’s series of free eps in which […]

  • New EP From Emily King – The Seven EP

    Emily King - The Seven EP

    You may remember Emily King from a few years back, from her song “Walk In My Shoes”. After she caused a stir with that track, she kinda disappeared. I have no idea what she’s been up to since then, but this EP, released independently has just surfaced. It’s less R&B than “Walk In My Shoes”, […]

  • Opolopo’s Soulful House Remix of 1960 What? by Gregory Porter

    Opolopo's remix of 1960 What? - Gregory Porter

    Tokyo Dawn’s Opolopo just posted this awesome “kick & bass rerub” house remix of jazz/soul singer Gregory Porter‘s “1960 What?”  – a soul music anthem for revolutionary times, past and present. The original 12-minute track is taken from his GRAMMY nominated debut album Water and its most political song. It’s inspired in part by Kamau Kenyatta’s stories […]

  • JimiJames – Still In Your Heart


    Well dang. Jimi James might just melt your screen with her smoldering, to say the least, performance in this here video. But if you’ve ever seen Jimi James perform live, you know that she always brings bucketloads of style and artistry to go along with the hotness. This video is no different. Whaddya think?

  • Gregory Porter – Tour Dates and Download – Jazz/Soul Music

    Gregory Porter tour dates

    Motema recording artist Gregory Porter is an amazing vocalist whose accomplished, GRAMMY nominated debut album Water will find a place in the hearts of soul and jazz fans alike. He’s currently in the midst of a West Coast tour, so be sure to take this opportunity to witness his talent live. Download a free song […]

  • Bilal – “Levels” Video – Directed by Flying Lotus

    Bilal - Levels Ep

    Lots of Bilal goodness for you today via ArtDontSleep: Finally, the video everyone has been waiting for…..Bilal’s “Levels,” directed by super producer Flying Lotus a.k.a. Steve Ellison . Lotus is making his directorial debut and this marks as sort of a Plug Research reunion, where his debut 1983 was released. The visually, stunning video was […]

  • Ben Westbeech – Slowly

    Ben Westbeech - Slowly

    Ben Westbeech is back, and back in style, by the sounds of this new track “Slowly.” He’s currently giving it away in exchange for your email address at his official site, so head over there and grab it while you can. Meanwhile, take a listen below. His new album, There’s More To Life Than This, […]

  • Sade – Soldier of Love – Making of the Album – Video

    This video provides a fascinating look into the creative process of a Sade – a true musical genius. We learn about what goes into making a Sade album and get some great behind-the-scenes insights into how Soldier of Love came to be.

  • Jose James – Code – Video

    Jose James’ new album Black Magic is out today, but while I impatiently wait for Emusic to get their ‘ish together and make that available here’s a lil something from Friends We Love. “Code” is produced by Flying Lotus and here we get a lil sneak peek at Mr. James laying down those silky vocals. […]

1 2 3 12
Next Page