Category: hip-hop

  • Squelchy Hip-Hop From Mr. Bibal and L Rey

    L Rey - Paz Y Amor

    This track came into the inbox with zero introduction, but for some reason I clicked on it in any case, and was pleasantly surprised to find a “squelchy” hip-hop soundscape, thick with electronic grooves and a solid thump. The track is taken from an album by the French (apparently) producer L Rey, Paz y Amor […]

  • Jazzy Downtempo from Sinitus Tempo

    Sinitus Tempo Peaceland - Jazzy Downtempo HipHop

    Lord knows where or how I discovered this gem, but I was digging through my notes of  ‘things to post on ye olde bloge’ and came upon this bookmark. Sinitus Tempo makes jazzy, downtempo beats with a hip-hop flavor. Peaceland is just one of several releases you’ll find on the Bandcamp page, all of a similar […]

  • Moody Jazz Hip-Hop Beats From Maehlib

    Maehlib - jazz hip-hop beats

    I get a lot of emails through this blog from a lot of artists trying to get attention for their little piece of the internet. I try and listen to what I can. Very generally speaking, most of it is mediocre at best. Few make the cut onto these hallowed digital pages ;) However, it’s […]

  • New Paul Pre Mix For Laid Back Radio

    German DJ Paul Pre, one of my favorites, has a new mix he did for Laid Back Radio in Belgium, featuring “chilled beat music”. As usual he comes correct with a selection of soulful, futuristic beats featuring AFTA-1, fLako and more (full tracklist below). Paul Pre for LDBK by Laid Back on Mixcloud Tracklist: 01. […]

  • New From Stereo MCs – Manner (Download)

    Stereo MCs - Emperor's Nightingale

    The Stereo MCs are back! They have a new album, Emperor’s Nightingale out on August 30th. “Manner” is the first, and pretty impressive single to be released from it, and as you’ll hear below, still features a strong hip-hop meets electro vibe. They sort of remind me of Daft Punk or maybe even Basement Jaxx […]

  • Nas Is Back With Nasty!

    Nas is set to return after several years since his last solo album. “Nasty” is the first single from the upcoming Life Is Good (although a name change is rumored to be in the works), due in September. “Nasty” has a classic Nas feel to it – bangin’ drums and Nas doing his thing solidly […]

  • Zo! – Just Visiting Three – Free Download

    Zo! Just Visiting Three - Free Download

    Zo! is a multi-instrumentalist / producer from Detroit who is on The Foreign Exchange Music label. His soulful hip-hop sound is a perfect match for that label, born out of the success of Phonte and Nicolay’s original Foreign Exchange collaboration. Just Visiting Three is the latest installment in Zo!’s series of free eps in which […]

  • New Music From Freestyle Fellowship – We Are

    Freestyle Fellowship - The Promise

    Hearing this new stuff from Freestyle Fellowship makes me nostalgic for my young hip-hop days, especially listening to Aceyalone’s “A Book of Human Language” for the first time and feeling pretty mind-blown. “We Are” is taken from a new album, The Promise, on the horizon (October actually) by Freestyle Fellowship and very welcome it will […]

  • Hear What I See – Anthony Valadez Mix

    Anthony Valadez Hear What I See Mix

    Some more tasty selections from the mind and record bag of Anthony Valadez. Streaming player below…. Tracklist: **Intro w/ Phontae (Little Brother/The Foreign Exchange** SBTRK & Sampha – Livin Like I Do Nina Simone – Funkier Than A Mosquitos Tweeter Ifan Dafydd – No Good Joy Division – She’s Lost Control Fantastic Mr. Fox – […]

  • Bug – Cosmic Lab / 20 Winks

    Music blog Jus’ Like Music has launched a record label and the first release is from this London bloke named Bug. The digital single, which is free to download, is Cosmic Lab b/w 20 Winks and both tracks display a nice line in galactic soul beats. Check out the choons below and download away! Definitely […]

  • Flying Lotus – Quakes

    New Flying Lotus tracks are always welcome and this one is no exception (spotted at Urb). Preceding his upcoming Warp release Cosmogramma scheduled for May, “Quakes” brings you some classic Flying Lotus flavor. This particular track will not be on the album, but can be found on the Warp compilation 2010. You can take a […]

  • Little Dragon – 1-O.A.K. Remix of Blinking Pigs

    Hot damn. This track is like, whoa. Seriously though, 1-O.A.K. did a ridiculous job of turning Little Dragon’s “Blinking Pigs” into a beautiful, hip-hop n’ jazz inflected head-nodder. 1-O.A.K, is Oakland’s Brandon McFarland – a vocalist, musician and producer who is part of the Bay Area Collective the Honor Roll. He entered this remix, titled […]

1 2 3 11
Next Page