Category: electronica

  • Toro Y Moi – Still Sound

    Toro Y Moi – Still Sound

    “Still Sound” is the first song taken from Toro Y Moi’s forthcoming album Underneath the Pine, due out Feb 22nd on Carpark. It’s funky and somewhat ethereal at the same time. The feel of this track is definitely earthier and bassier than Causers of This (one of my surprise favorite albums of last year) which was more on […]

  • Myxzlplix – Now Recording EP (downtempo, hip-hop)

    Myxzlplix – Now Recording EP (downtempo, hip-hop)

    Our colleague, awesome Strictly Social resident DJ, pixel-pusher extraordinaire and all-around good fella, DJ Myxzlplix has just released an EP of his very own productions. Now Recording is true to the eclectic aesthetic he conveys through his DJ mixes. Downtempo, electronica, funk and dancehall all find their way into the collage. My personal favorite is […]

  • Bibio – Mind Bokeh – Album Sampler

    Typically I might be wary of any band described as “pop pastoralist” (Pitchfork’s words), but this sampler actually sounds kinda nice. I’ll be looking for this one on emusic in March. Pitchfork says: Mind Bokeh, the new album from the electronic pop pastoralist and Boards of Canada disciple Bibio, arrives March 29 in the U.S. and […]

  • Sonnymoon – Houstatlantavegas (Drake cover)

    Sonnymoon – Houstatlantavegas (Drake cover)

    Sonnymoon are a quirky duo – part indie-kid, part electro-hop. They released a free album not so long ago, Golden Age which is a mixed bag (according to me) – it’s definitely interesting and different, I just can’t figure out if I like it or not. But, I will say that their cover of Drake’s […]

  • Comfort Fit – Polyshufflez Remixes

    Comfort Fit – Polyshufflez Remixes

    German producer Comfort Fit’s Polyshufflez album is a blistering collection of futuristic soul, electronic hip-hop, broken beat jams and other funky, experimental sounds. In fact I’m still hooked on that album and here comes the Polyshufflez Remixes album, due out December 17! This one is a must-have as well, featuring reworks from the likes of […]

  • New Groove Armada Video – I Won’t Kneel

    Groove Armada recently signed with Om Records and are set to release a brand new album BlackLight with them in February 2010. This is the first single from said album –  “I Won’t Kneel.”  I generally like Groove Armada, and this track might grow on me, although on first listen, it’s a bit too much […]

  • Tiesto – Kaleidoscope – Win A Copy!

    Tiesto – Kaleidoscope – Win A Copy!

    Tiesto’s new album Kaleidoscope is out now, and while you might associate Tiesto with massive trance anthems, the new album has a little something different going on that will broaden his audience further. Take for example the collaboration with Sigur Rós’ Jónsi Birgisso which is a beautiful downtempo piece.Other collaborations on the new album include […]

  • Little Dragon – Blinking Pigs and Machine Dreams

    Little Dragon – Blinking Pigs and Machine Dreams

    I’ve been a major slacker as far as blogging goes lately. But that’s ‘cos I’ve been un-slacking in other areas. You know, work and such. So anyway forgive me for what could be a series of really late passes. But anyways, Little Dragon are near and dear to my heart so here’s the infos on […]

  • Lisa Shaw at Strictly Social – 05/20

    Lisa Shaw at Strictly Social – 05/20

    Can’t wait for this one! Lisa Shaw will be at Strictly Social this Weds! Nu-Soul Magazine & Soul Union are proud to present a very special edition of Strictly Social on Wednesday May 20, 2009. Salted Music recording artist and soulful house music legend Lisa Shaw will be gracing our stage for a very special […]

  • Guillermo Scott Herren Mixtape Download

    Guillermo Scott Herren Mixtape Download

    Scott Herren AKA Prefuse 73 has been so kind as to give away this wonderful mixtape for free. Sleeping on Saturday and Sunday Afternoon is a very chill collection of instrumentals and mini-soundscapes. Ethereal and constantly shifting like those wierdly vivid dreams I have while napping, this mixtape is what I imagine it would be […]

  • DJ Smiles Mixtape – Preach

    DJ Smiles Mixtape – Preach

    Here’s the latest mixtape from DJ Smiles who is the resident DJ for the Puma Monthly Music Series and can be caught spinning at various swanky LA spots. The album artwork was done by the awesome Ritzy Periwinkle. Download DJ Smiles – Many Styles Vol 3: PREACH!

  • Out Today – Supa Crucial Downtempo Remixes & Rarities

    Out Today – Supa Crucial Downtempo Remixes & Rarities

    This slice of dopeness featuring Mystic (new album? please?) is just one of the gems featured on a new collection from The Angel and Supa Crucial Recordings. Supa Crucial Downtempo Remixes & Rarities displays The Angel’s versatility and comfort with genres from dubby downtempo to gritty underground hip-hop.The collection features collaborations with Divine Styler, Tre […]