Category: R&B

  • New Music From Dwele – “What Profit”

    New Music From Dwele – “What Profit”

    Yay! Dwele’s back with a smooth n’ catchy new single “What Profit”, which precedes a brand new album, his fifth no less which will be released in late summer. Dwele’s last album, “W.ants. W.orld. W.omen. (W.W.W.)” was released in 2010 so it’s been a while since we’ve heard anything from the man. The track is […]

  • Mar – Seeing Her Naked

    Mar – Seeing Her Naked

    This is an awesome slice of underground soul music that would be well worth paying for, but Mar has kindly made it available for free. The singer/songwriter from Amsterdam has crafted an excellent EP that keeps it sexy without crossing over into cheesy. Production comes from FS Green and Full Crate, so you know the […]

  • Jesse Boykins III – B4 The Night Is Thru

    Jesse Boykins III – B4 The Night Is Thru

    “B4 The Night Is Thru” is taken from Jesse Boykins’ upcoming release Love Apparatus. I think it’s probably his best track yet so I’m kinda curious to see how the whole album is. With this catchy, polished track it seems as though his sound and skills have matured. BTW you can download it from his […]

  • Jazzy – Off My Square

    Jazzy – Off My Square

    Jazzy is a local LA R&B singer and songwriter who deserves mainstream attention. Her debut release Oh Jazzy, released back in 2007 is one of the better indie soul/R&B releases you’re likely to come across. She is an excellent songwriter and has a unique voice – paired up with the great production talent she seems […]

  • Colin Munroe – Start A War

    Colin Munroe – Start A War

    New joint from funky n’ talented white boy Colin Munroe. “Start A War” is another funky, electro-y jam taken from his forthcoming album Don’t Think Less of Me. I’m diggin’ this one. Listen: [audio:colin-munroe-start-a-war.mp3] Download Colin Munroe – “Start A War”

  • MJ Cole ft. Digga – Gotta Have It

    MJ Cole ft. Digga – Gotta Have It

    I do love me some MJ Cole. I haven’t been keeping up with him over the past few years, so when I came across this track, it reminded me of my younger days (sigh), discovering 2-step/garage and MJ Cole’s wonderful album Sincere back in 2000 or so. This new track “Gotta Have It” has a […]

  • Steph Jones – Shooting Star

    Steph Jones – Shooting Star

    What is it with major labels scooping up talent and then not doing a damn thing with it – J*Davey, Miguel to name a couple, and in this case – Steph Jones. He was signed to DTP/Def Jam for about 5 minutes but now he’s a free agent again. Hating that played-out vocal effect on […]

  • Soulful Bits n Bobs

    Soulful Bits n Bobs

    The interweb is just too darned big for one wee blog to cover. So here’s some interesting finds you’ll no doubt enjoy, courtesy of my soulful blogging brethren. Nu-Soul Mag has a review of the awesome new Yellowtail album. SoulBounce has got some steamy shots from Maxwell’s new project…which is up there with D’Angelo’s allegedly […]

  • New Music From Leela James – It’s a Man’s Man’s Man’s World

    New Music From Leela James – It’s a Man’s Man’s Man’s World

    It’s good to see Leela James back on the scene. Her authentic and earthy style of soul broke out with her debut “A Change Is Gonna Come” and the long awaited follow up “Let’s Do It Again” hits the streets March 24th: Let’s Do It Again, is Leela’s long-awaited follow-up to her powerful debut which […]

  • New (ish) Stuff From Goapele – Don’t Be Shy, Chocolate

    So I just stumbled upon some new stuff from Goapele. Kinda new, cos it looks like these songs have been around for a couple of months now, but I hadn’t seen them anywhere until now. Firstly she released a new single on iTunes called “Don’t Be Shy”, which is signature Goapele – smooth, soulful, jazzy. […]

  • Peter Hadar – Watermelon – Download

    Peter Hadar – Watermelon – Download

    Here’s a new joint from Peter Hadar. “Watermelon” is a collabo with producer Nicolay and features one of his trademark soulful hip-hop beats. It’s taken from a new mixtape from DJ Jamad. Also in the works is a an EP of baby-makin’ music, “She’s 4 Months.” Don’t forget that you can also cop Peter’s excellent […]

  • Miguel – Mischief The Mixtape

    Miguel – Mischief The Mixtape

    Miguel is an LA-based artist who was  signed to Jive Records earlier this year. He’s also appeared on Blu’s Below The Heavens and the Johnson&Jonson album (under the name Jontel). And I learned via FreshSelects that he co-wrote Musiq’s “If You Leave” and Usher’s “Revolver”. He recently dropped a free ep/mixtape which is pretty hot […]

Privacy Preference Center